Review: Chefs Plate

Hello everyone and Happy Wednesday!

If you follow me on Instagram, you probably know that I recently stumbled across the company Chefs plate, and that I am already a huge fan.   I’ve had a couple of people already ask me about it so I thought I would put up a genuine review of my experience with Chefs Plate so far.

So, what is it?

Chefs plate is a company that delivers amazing ingredients and recipes right to your door, based on a meal plan of your choosing. You can choose to receive enough ingredients for two people or a family of four, and can choose to receive ingredients for 2, 3 or 4 meals a week. They give you new meal options every week, dropped right at your door with no signature required, and in refrigerated boxes that are 100% recyclable. The meats provided are hormone and antibiotic free, and they work with local farmers to get locally sourced ingredients.

It truly is a pretty amazing concept!

Not only are the recipes that they send to you relatively healthy, but they also encourage you to cook with spices and ingredients that you wouldn’t normally try yourself. I’ve been introduced to new things like Garam Masala, Pickled Red Onion, and Parsnip, and can now say I am well versed in the delicious-ness that is Tahini.

I chose the vegetarian meal plan for two with a delivery of 3 meals for the week. This has been a great option for me, because I often times find that this feeds more than just 2 servings. This allows me to pack anything I make for my lunch for work the next day and saves me some time from having to prepare something else. This specific option is $65.70, but for 3 full dinners + lunches a week with healthy ingredients – I think that is pretty great!

I love that it is dropped at your doorstep, with no signature required. The boxes keep the food cold for you if you aren’t around at the time of delivery to put the ingredients away. This is a great option for people who are busy at work or school all day, who still want a healthy, home cooked meal but don’t necessarily have the time to sit around and think about what to make or what to buy.

One thing to note is that this is not a full meal service, meaning they aren’t dropping readily prepared meals to your door. They are providing you with the tools – the exact amount of fresh ingredients and easy to follow recipe card that you need to get cooking. Some of you may sigh upon hearing this, but they are encouraging you to make good choices, learn new recipes and get creative with cooking! If they just dropped off these meals for you, where would the fun be in that?  I’ve noticed that it has also encouraged my mom to get cooking again (hi mom!) and that she genuinely gets excited when she has made something delicious all by herself.  If it does it for her, it can do it for you as well!

One small hiccup I’ve found is that there are a lot of somewhat similar spices or globally inspired meals being sent.  For example, there frequently tends to be some sort of Asian inspired noodle bowl, a mushroom pasta or recipes containing spices like cumin etc. Maybe this is just for the Vegetarian Meal Plan but it is something I’ve noticed. Although most of the recipes each week do vary, the taste is sometimes similar. For most people, however, you are cooking relatively similar things each week so this shouldn’t be too much of an issue. Also, selecting the omnivore meal plan will probably give you more variety.

All in all, I give Chefs Plate 5 stars ⋆⋆⋆⋆⋆! It is a great tool to help spark some energy in the kitchen for those who love to cook, and is also a great tool for people who are looking to begin a healthy diet or lifestyle but aren’t sure where to start.  It is like a little cooking class in the comfort of your own home, and will definitely help even the worst cooks get creative in the kitchen.

Let me know if you have tried Chefs Plate or if you are willing to give it a try! I would love to hear your feedback and reviews.  Want to learn more about Chefs Plate? Find them here.

Cheers to Food,
Jenna

 

Leave a Reply

